Recognised as one of Europe's leading iconographers, Sister Aloysius was a much loved Artist in Residence at The Playhouse for 16 years before her sad passing in 2008.
Her work, which she described as the creation of a 'visible bible', was celebrated worldwide.
Originally from Dungiven, Sr Aloysius created the city's most famous icon 'Our Lady of Derry', and was one of the few Derry people to study Fine Art at Yale University.After joining the Sisters of Mercy she spent many years teaching, and co-directed courses in icon painting arranged by the Association of Irish Iconographers, of which she was a founding member.
This new exhibition features sketches, proprietary drawings, a video, and an opportunity to see her final piece of work, ‘The Mercy Window'.
This stunning piece is situated within The Playhouse, the original the site of the Convent of Mercy in Pump St. Derry. Sr. Aloysius was invited by the staff at The Playhouse to design the window. This was the last piece the iconographer worked on before her death in 2008. The Sister's friend and fellow artist Brother Joe Connolly completed the design, a tribute to the work of the Sisters of Mercy from when they arrived in Derry in 1848.
Sr Aloysius first became interested in Iconography c 17 years ago and describes how she felt their powerful, prayerful presence in the Orthodox Churches in Eastern Europe.
The whole process could take weeks, even months, and cannot be hurried. The work begins with prayer and continues within an atmosphere of prayer, silence and often fasting, if possible. The icon is given a solemn consecration when finished.